Advice · Lists

Day-to-day Motivation

This post will attempt to give an insight into some of the strategies I have used to help cope with my anxiety and depression.

I originally thought this post would cover all of my coping strategies – yet I had so much to say so I decided to post one at a time throughout the course of the next few weeks.

Some of these strategies have a medical substance and some are more personal, things that I have found to work.

1) Breaking down the day into

small tasks and steps: 

After loosing the structure of my university life, I became quite sluggish and lazy – sleeping ridiculous hours & getting nothing productive done. As a one off, days like this are fine and often quite nice to do. However, a couple weeks worth had an awful effect on my mood.

So, my parents (who are very insightful) helped me structure my day with a routine & tasks. It may seem silly, but that combined with my job helped to increase my general mood. I was finally doing something with my day, not moping in my bed watching Netflix for hours and hours.

Even something as simple as getting up, showering & getting dressed for the day can have a massive positive impact on the rest of your day.

I used to be an extremely organised person, so getting this back into my routine has been very important! Every moment of the day used to be accounted for, and nothing was forgotten. I have always kept a planner/academic diary since the beginning of A-Level, writing down my tasks just helped me remember them!

Another way to do it, uses post-tic notes – where tasks have been colour coded (e.g. uni modules, health, work etc.), and stuck onto noticeboards – when the task is done = take it off (it is quite satisfying and feels quite productive!)

The tasks I write down are not always massive – often quite simple and mundane ones that can be achieved quite easily. One of the best ways to make a To-Do-List is to include things that are easily done or already completed, as it makes the whole thing seem a bit less daunting!

Below are two examples of my attempts at organising myself – today is my day off work, so I can do all the nice things like knitting or history research, as well as the important things like getting my laptop fixed.

On my calendar, I mark all the days I am working, any plans I have, holidays, pay day, appointments etc. etc., as well as marking free days: either for overtime at work or days to plan something super nice and uplifting. For instance, last week’s day out at Haddon Hall.

You may read this post and think its really silly. However, I truly think if I had not got my act together and got organised, I would still be in bed at 11am, watching Netflix in my pjs feeling completely s**t about myself.

There is some element of organisation behind all this - I promise!
There is some element of organisation behind all this – I promise!
Writing a list each morning or the night before is vital: Even if the tasks are small mundane daily tasks, its still nice to tick them all off!
Leave a Reply

